Dark Night of My Heart


It hurts when you break up wit’ someone

Hurts more when someone breaks up wit’ you

That’s how I found her, my sweet love;

I wanted to wipe away the tears

Hold the darkness at bay for her

Help her find the dawn once again

Yet she couldn’t, she’s so hurt, and mourning;

Angry wit’ life, bitter wit’ the whole world

So fragile and vulnerable – my heart went to her,

For the first time I felt love

Interesting feeling, complicated emotion

Wanted to build wars around her to keep her safe

Yet she kept me at bay, a thousand miles away;

Pain tore through my heart like sword

Hurt so much to see her sorrowful, hurting

Hurt most to know that she knew not

How much I felt for her.

 

 

Copyright ©Elove, 2013

 

Read more: http://authspot.com/poetry/dark-night-of-my-heart-2/#ixzz2LAbq2Fxo

6 thoughts on “Dark Night of My Heart

  1. Nice. Really nice. I love the simple diction, and the easy way in which the emotions are poured out. It is always easy to know when a poem has come out “electrically powered” rather than mechanical. Well done.

Leave a Reply

