The Bachelorette Diaries – (Wk14, 2012)


On Wednesday at exactly 2:59 p.m. my cell phone rang. Shit! Damn it! Why do I carry the infernal gadget, I cursed. Why does this generation love to be on call?

What a life!

So far so good – I had not told Frank of my plan for the Easter holiday, according to plan.

“Hey girl, what’s up?” I spoke into the phone. I turned toward the window that showed the picturesque Nairobi city outside. What a sight to behold!

“Hey Shiri. How are you doing? I’ve missed you so. Whachaya up to girl?” it was good to hear from Evelyn, my very good friend from the Nation Media Group.  She sounded happy and as if she had actually missed me.

“Great, sweetie. I’ve missed you too, like we haven’t talked since yester-night?”

“Oh, we’ve talked? Sometimes I get too absorbed in my work that I get amnesia. I’m just checking out on you.”

From the sound of her voice I suspected that it wasn’t just a call to check out on me. The last time she said that since I came to Kenya last year she was warning me of something bad that was about to happen to me.

“What about you? Are you alight?” I asked Eve.

“Yes. I am…”

“I know you all too well,” I interrupted my friend. “Tell me the truth, and nothing but.”

There was a long bout of silence on the other side before she said, “We need to talk.”

I knew what that meant.

Exactly at 5:30 p.m., I walked into Hotel 680 where I found Eve, Gwendolyn, national security reporter from KTN and Wisteria, an anchor form the Royal Media Services’ Citizen TV. The trio beamed when they saw me.

Eve, Gwen and Wisty gave me the girls’ kisses and hugs and had my order even before I perched my butt down on the executive hotel chair.

After ten minutes or so, Gwen began, “Shiri girl, we are worried for you. Are you sure you are alright?”

It seemed they had discussed about me, and I was not getting it. So, I asked, “Have you been gossiping about me?”

“Nay, come on girl, you know us.” It was Wisty.

“What do you mean?” I asked.

The girls exchanged looks and that said it all. They knew something I didn’t.

“Okay, here’s the thing,” Gwen began. “We’re worried that you are ignoring us. Girl, since you met this Frank guy we’ve been seeing less of you. Man, we miss you. The club misses you like crazy.”

That was it. They thought that I was spending too much time with my man than I was with them. God, they’re pathetic. But who could blame them – I am in love.

“Please, would you please leave my personal life, and my man, out of this?”

We argued some until when Eve said, “We can’t just sit around twiddling thumbs when a sis’ is losing it. That’s breaking the code.”

“You’ve already broken it by not minding your own business,” I said.

“Do you even know this Frank character well?” asked Wisty. “You know it’s sin, and an abomination. Of all people, you, Shiri?”

As usual I went ballistics. Which woman wouldn’t when it comes to her man? They were jealous of me with Frank. Women, that’s our greatest foible.

I remembered when I introduced Frank to them some time ago.  Right from the start I could see that they did not like him. Well, it happens. A woman meets her prince charming, cuts all the cords that connected her to her friends and the man becomes everything in her life. That’s how my friends felt.

I opened my mouth to quip a nasty response, but Eve quieted me with the wave of her overly braceleted hand.

Oh, God! She doesn’t know,” Eve said, almost to herself. “You don’t know, do you?”

I was stupefied. Flabbergasted actually.

They exchanged those girlie looks again and I said, “Come on ladies, bring me in on the loop.”

“It is Frank, Shiri. Do you really know him?” Gwendolyn said.

Frank again? What’s it with these bitches. My lips quivered, resentment piling up on me, all the rage hurtling back. I tried to say something, but the way my friends looked at me made me hold my horses.

“Frank is playing you for a fool, Shiri. He is lying to you,” Eve told me. It was her tone, not what she said that told me I stop bitching.

The BaC (Bachelorette Club) now had my full attention.

Copyright ©Elove Poetry, 2012.

 


Read More of My articles:

http://www.wikinut.com/author~venekh/Elove-Poetry/

http://poeticjustness.blogspot.com

http://ShortThrillers.blogspot.com

 

Leave a Reply

